PDA

View Full Version : Dease River?

wayne nicol
12-07-2015, 08:30 PM
So... for those of you that have been on the dease.
what kind of water can a person expect.
i have many years experience as a white water guide- so not concerned about ability- but just trying to get a handle on water conditions to decide on a suitable craft for a trip in mid sept.
options are to build a drift boat- great for gear, and meat- and my mate can fish while i row!
but they are slower on flat and sluggish water, and do have some windage issues , if it gets windy up that valley in sept?

or to build two freighter canoes- each run one- lots of capacity- slicker in the water- but then its two boats.- no body catching supper!!
what other options could one consider??
cheers
wayne

emerson
12-07-2015, 10:09 PM
So... for those of you that have been on the dease.
what kind of water can a person expect.
i have many years experience as a white water guide- so not concerned about ability- but just trying to get a handle on water conditions to decide on a suitable craft for a trip in mid sept.
options are to build a drift boat- great for gear, and meat- and my mate can fish while i row!
but they are slower on flat and sluggish water, and do have some windage issues , if it gets windy up that valley in sept?

or to build two freighter canoes- each run one- lots of capacity- slicker in the water- but then its two boats.- no body catching supper!!
what other options could one consider??
cheers
wayne
From where to where? I don't think you are paddling back up. Not big whitewater from the highway crossing down to15k or so past Cotton Lake, but not many animals sitting on the river either. I spent 6 days on the river last fall and saw 2 bulls. Lots of calling and waiting off the main channels.

two-feet
12-07-2015, 10:18 PM
Two freighter canoes would be the absolute tits up there.

wayne nicol
12-08-2015, 01:11 AM
i think two freighters is what its gonna be.
probably paddle from the lake to the liard :)