PDA

View Full Version : Do's, but more importantly, DO NOTS

samwyse
12-07-2015, 03:05 AM
Hey guys,

I am completely new to guns and hunting in general. I'm an avid fisherman and do a lot of work outdoors (farm manager).

I have a 4 month old Drathaar/Lab mix. She's great, her name's Tesla and the beard from her father is coming in nicely. I intend to use her for waterfowl and grouse. If anyone thinks/knows that she could carry skills over to other animals easily, let me know! She's already pointing naturally, so I'd like to know if there's anything I should do to promote that. She's just beginning to listen well to "whoa". I don't have a gun and don't really intend to introduce her the sound of one until I have one to carry around the farm so she gets used to seeing it. She's been fishing with me and we hear locals practicing near the FSR's, doesn't seem to phase her much.

Overall I am looking for advice from experienced hunters with dogs about what to avoid wrecking her.

thanks in advance!

BiG Boar
12-07-2015, 08:25 AM
I'd look at proper ways to introduce her to gun fire right away.

Get a a book or DVD and start some kind of gun dog training program , the sooner the better. Unless you're okay with a half assed dog. Then just do what you feel is best.

samwyse
12-07-2015, 10:40 AM
I'd look at proper ways to introduce her to gun fire right away.

Get a a book or DVD and start some kind of gun dog training program , the sooner the better. Unless you're okay with a half assed dog. Then just do what you feel is best.

Hi Big Boar,
I've read (and heard from hunters I've met) a whole range of different ways of introducing dogs to gunfire. What I've come away with is to not take her to the gun range.
Do you have any books you can recommend? I have found one at the FVRL but did not glean too much from it unfortunately.

yamadirt 426
12-07-2015, 11:26 AM