PDA

View Full Version : Whitetail Scouting - Tips

skibum
12-01-2015, 10:43 AM
I am new to whitetail hunting - I have tried hunting them in spots where I have seen them, which is basically a white flag in the dark while I drive to my mulie spots.

Went out last weekend to where I have seen whitetails before, and ended up only calling in mule deer. Wasn't a waste as some bruisers came in, but no tag left.

Anyways I put some time in hiking/scouting around; really don't see too many whitetail (hiking kamloops area). Do you need trail cameras to scout them?

Any tips to scouting whitetail.

Thanks

hoochie
12-01-2015, 10:57 AM
I find them, then take note of the time I saw them. watch them for a while and see where they come from and where they leave. I mean, if you see them along a treeline; where did they come out of the tree line, and if they walked along, where did they go back in or what have you.
They, in my experience, tend to follow a pattern like us going to work. If you see me in the driveway in the morning you know I am going to be heading down the road at a certain time. You will also see me return in the evening at about the same time.
I have seen WT at all hours of the day, but tend to see them most between 9 & 10 in the morning, or any time after 4 in the afternoon. Earlier in the season, I noticed that the deer I was hoping for was usually around 6pm.
I don't have trail cameras, haven't ever used one. I hunt on foot. I have seen many times where people in trucks or quads have driven right on by deer and never knew they were there. Walking, you can sometimes hear them. They make a noise from their nose like a dog doing a quick exhale through their nose.

Seeker
12-01-2015, 11:43 AM
Good place to start..... http://www.huntingbc.ca/forum/showthread.php?98219-Some-Big-Whities-For-Ya/page13&highlight=whities