PDA

View Full Version : 7-20A ELK LEH - Looking for Private Land for Junior Hunter

APOSTLEsix
11-27-2015, 12:54 PM
Hi everyone,

My son won the LEH Any Sex Elk for 7-20A Dec 1-Feb 28 and I am hoping to fill his tag sometime over the winter.
We will be heading out regardless but seeing as our luck this year has been quite dismal and we are quite disheartened by how much time we have spent trecking through the wilds with nothing to show for it, I thought it might be best to ask if any farmer around Dawson Creek has an invasive herd problem on their ranch over these winter months.

My son is 11 years old and despite our two weeks of moose hunting and his backyard (region 5) LEH antlerless draw he still hasn't been able to connect with any big game this season.
I usually would simply hit the bush but since I have no elk hunting experience and we have already drained the hunting budget for the year (time and money) I thought I'd try to secure a bit of a backup plan.
If you are able to help us out, and we are able to help you out in kind, please PM me and I will look forward to communicating with you about this.

My thought was that I would just build a short list of people who might generally have issues with Elk camping out on their properties and contact them when we are able to head up there, or vice versa they can contact us when the menace arrives.

Thanks in advance,

APOSTLEsix
12-08-2015, 10:55 AM
Bump, no replies so far

Rhyno
12-08-2015, 05:20 PM
This hunt is not like it used to be. Most have their hay fenced, problem elk are not as common any more. I had the draw a few years ago, but the elk were only on the fields if it were very very cold or if there is lots of snow. We hunted hard, both of us filled our tags the last morning which was more out of luck than anything else.