PDA

View Full Version : What could I have done differently??

curlyfry09
11-10-2015, 10:59 PM
Hey guys, so Im new to region 3 and finally found myself a nice little area to call my own. There are no other people coming into it. So after a crinkly walk in on frozen leaves this morning I am sitting in my treestand for about an hour when I decide to let off a couple doe bleats. About 5 minutes later I hear this buck coming in from the cut block I'm sitting against. Now this is an old cut, the trees are about 10-12 feet high but you can still see through them alright and there's a ton of sign heading into it. Anyways, this guy is making all sorts of noise on his way in, stomping kicking grunting until he gets to about 40 yards and he stops advancing. So I give another bleat and he starts going ape shit just inside the treeline, I can pick up the odd movement through the gaps, he's thrashing around jumping in circles and what seems to be figure eights. Then he calms down and I see his tail waving as he trots down the hill further into the cut, so I bleat again and he comes tearing back to the same spot and beats the shit out of it again. This goes on 3 times bit he never sticks his head out where I can see it, I saw his tail a bunch of times but that's all. After the third time I assume he's gonna go back down the hill but I see him run flat out in the other direction, at first I thought he was chasing away another seer because he obviously had a purpose. A few minutes later however I see a coyote heading up the hill away from me and he was coming from exactly where that deer ran off to. I thought about popping him to make it easier on the population but was still hopeful to get that deer back, never happened.