PDA

View Full Version : Idea to help CO prevent poaching without BC spending a fortune

alexboyprin
10-26-2015, 04:19 PM
Hi! I have been hunting in BC for 5 years and I never saw a CO! That means that if I had be so inclined, I could have poached and brought home many animals without any problems. I was thinking on how to better protect our wildlife. I understand that the province do not want to hire 2,000 COs at $50,000 Dollars per year each plus buy 1,000 Pickup trucks at also $50,000 Dollars each and build many offices and facilities because it would be too expensive. As a result, the COs rely on reporting from citizens. My idea? Why not install gates at the entrance of the main FSRs? This system has been used before and It was a big deterrent. I remember when I was 7 years old (I am 57 Y/o now!) Every time I was going hunting with adults, they were always "afraid of the gate"!

At the gate, there would be only one CO, who would politely ask you to open the trunk or to look inside your car or pick up! No fuss, no muss and cheap! No need for the CO to run around so much and burn gas.

No need for many COs and trucks! Gates! And everyone would be monitored, first nations included! Every one stop at the gate!

Big deterrent!

I would be interested in comments on that idea!

Thanks!
PS. After reading the comments, I realize that may be my ides is not practical. Sorry about this. Yet, I still hope that someone can come with a better system without infringing on our liberties.

northernhunter
10-26-2015, 04:26 PM
Think it has a lot of flaws and bad idea. We get checked up north usually couple times a year. Start putting up more gates would be shit show, start hiking and go hunting for real

skibum
10-26-2015, 04:28 PM
Why would you install a gate instead of just parking a CO there?

Foxton Gundogs
10-26-2015, 04:32 PM
Like gates so much we have a pile here on the island you can have, just come and remove them.

Big Lew
10-26-2015, 04:53 PM