PDA

View Full Version : I have many deer rut questions, any knowledge will be greatly appreciated!

Logan
10-25-2015, 09:33 PM
OK, so I moved to Kamloops last summer and I hunted here for deer last fall and got an average 2 pointer. I am new to deer hunting and this year I would like to get something a little bigger and I understand the thing to do is wait till mid Nov. I have been hunting all over the Kamloops area every weekend for about 6 weeks now and have seen a few bucks I coulda shot but I figured i'd leave them be till they grow up a bit.

So, during the rut the bigger ones come out from hiding and find a group of doe's to chase around yes? Does this break up the herds of doe's?

I see hundreds of them but they are all down low in farmers fields....so in order to get one of the bigger bucks do I have to find a friendly farmer to let me hunt on his land, or will the bigger bucks come and bring the doe's back up into the hills?

If they are all going to stay low is my only chance at getting a big one by catching it while its heading down low to the lady deer?

Say I hiked some bags of feed into a few special spots i've scoped out... would that be a way get a buck or some doe's to stick around for a few days until I get off work to come find 'em?

any tips or tricks help! thanks for reading!

Jelvis
10-25-2015, 10:04 PM
Mule ruts hot and heavy right now in the Kamloops forests, at night when no one is watching the bucks are in the bedroom with a hot doe. Breed at night and migrate at night.
The biggest bucks don't come out in the light, those bucks hanging in the day around does are sattalite bucks, the biggest bad boy is in the darkness of the buck brush and pines hiding during the day looking out. Those sattalite bucks can be 155 class typs. You won't see a big non-typ out in the open.
Go hunting tomorrow and until Nov 24th, the bucks and does are mating now heavy.
Oct 23rd to Nov 2nd and tapering down to the 24th.