PDA

View Full Version : Hunting Southern BC 101He grandrou

bwerb
10-11-2015, 06:45 PM
Hello hunting friends, I'm hoping for some guidance or direction...I'm not asking for your specific area, just some general concepts.

My grandfather was an amazing hunter...awesome Alaskan Moose racks testify to his prowess...but alas he is no longer with us...I am a novice hunter with no mentor. I am a long-time outdoors guy and am hoping some of our members will help with some basic hunting 101 instruction.

I arrived at a promising area prior to sunrise. I head-out with soft footfalls and open eyes. I was in an area with large cut-blocks with older growth and secondary plants on the perifery. I headed-up the cut (and could feel the wind at my back...mistake 1?). I saw enough deer poop to, including...is it stiil steaming?...to start a fertilizer company. I heard multiple rifle shots in the area. I didn't see a single deer. (Grouse and rabbit...yes).

I'm looking for general guidance. Do you walk up the cuts? Do you walk down the cuts? Do you walk to a point, sit and start glassing? Do you sit all day? Do you walk through the recent replant fringes? I must have walked at least 12km up and down through the cut, replants and uncut vallleys...always thinking there must have been deer nearby based on all the recent poop piles but nada.

Help...any and all advice wanted.

monasheemountainman
10-11-2015, 06:56 PM
Tip #1 it's called hunting not killing. You won't shoot anything 90% of the time. You won't see anything on many occasions, so don't quit don't over think it. Keep the wind in your favour, when the sun is rising or falling try to keep it behind you, don't skyline yourself and learn from mistakes.

10-11-2015, 07:05 PM