PDA

View Full Version : Elusive first deer

dirtymax
10-10-2015, 09:30 AM
hey guys I am new to hunting. Self taught through all the forums on this great site just recently finished my CORE and PAL and have bought a rifle. Trying to spend as much time as possible this month to get any buck wt doe or bear. Last weekend spent 4 days out at Brookmere with my dad who isn't a hunter but a good driver/extra set of eyes and we saw some deer and a bear but couldnt connect at all. I am heading up to Jamison cr area camping at white wood lake next week with my cousin and just wondering what it's like up there ? can I get a small travel trailer up there ? I also heard there's a lot of wolves ... We have other spots we've considered. Any tips/advice on conditions would be appreciated :) Will post with our success hopefully

Salty
10-10-2015, 10:10 AM
Hey dirtymax welcome to the site. Sorry I'm not familiar with those areas but my advice is put some boots to the ground. If your seeing animals or sign that they're there walk the area and find what's around also sit and watch those areas quietly and hidden. Hopefully others will chime in on the area:)

noahs ark
10-10-2015, 10:48 AM
My brother and I drove through there on our way from 3-20 over to another area on Wednesday. We got on at westsyde Rd. And took it up and over to Gorman and out to the highway. There was 3 camps at whitewood we talked to one and they were all moose hunting. 2 camps had connected. We literally just drove through to have a look with the camper on and didn't do much exploring but we didn't see anything. Seems pretty grown up in there and no shortage of browse for them either. Talked to a local up there who said it used to be great but recent years has been shot out.

edit: the main fsr is just fine for any trailer combo.

dirtymax
10-10-2015, 11:31 PM