PDA

View Full Version : Field Dressing ... Errors and solutions

Doe.Deer
10-08-2015, 08:57 AM
I am new to hunting. I have a moose hunt coming up in a week and I want to be as informed as possible. I have been reading up on field dressing and watching video's on youtube. There is so much information on proper techniques, how to hang them, how to cool them, even a bit on if you will butcher it yourself.

My question is... I read so much of "don't puncture stomach, guts, etc..." so now I am researching, well what if you do! What do you do next? So far the only thing I am reading is discard the meat (WHAT A WASTE!!!!!) or drench it in vinegar and butcher it faster so it doesn't hang their for a week and spoil.

So what do you do if you punctured these parts? What would be worse puncturing intestines or bladder? I'm sure not everyone is perfect I just hope I have help when I get mine *crossing fingers* and if not I know how to correct my horrible mistake if by chance I do puncture it.

Tips I found to be useful so far
-I read on one website if you get some bladder on the meat to just wipe it immediately off where it touched and pat dry.
-I also read if you puncture intestines/stomach hang it from the head not the feet so the contamination doesn't run through the deer when draining out/cleaning it.
-Rinse with vinegar and little water to clean it up, black pepper to keep bugs away

rides bike to work
10-08-2015, 09:00 AM
Ya just wipe it out quickly as you can. If there is snow on the ground that works good to sop it up and clean out the cavity. It won't contaminate much of the meat.

Xenomorph
10-08-2015, 09:09 AM
Don't waste, that's all I can say. We had cases of gut shots, clean through the stomach, all exploded inside. Gutted the deer as fast as possible, dragged it to a creek nearby and washed thoroughly, then skinned, brought home and washed some more. No spoil, no weird taste.