PDA

View Full Version : I'm looking for some Elk hunting tips

tenrag
09-27-2015, 09:25 PM
I have been hunting for about 5 years and I want to start focusing on elk. I have had success each year with deer but I want move onto something bigger and a bit challenging.
I recently found an area loaded with elk sign but I'm trying to figure out their movement pattern and habits. I always thought the big bulls stayed high in the alpine until late season and the cows and calfs hung in the valley bottoms. I have seen lots of cows/calfs and found some decent rubs. I would like to know your thoughts on elk movement.

I'm wondering if you would share you call patterns. IE) do you typically let a locate bugle go before sunrise or do you find cow calls work better? Once the sun is up do you change tactics? How often do you call if no response? Do you scrape trees in parallel to bugle? I'm full of questions and curious to learn what has work for you.

Thanks for taking the time to reply.

palmer
09-27-2015, 09:37 PM
put up some trail cams....see what's there and movement patterns

j270wsm
09-27-2015, 09:58 PM
Try a locator bugle and see what happens. You could find a vantage point and sit for the first/last hours of day light. If those don't work try a few cow calls.

J_T
09-28-2015, 06:16 AM
Lots of threads on elk hunting. Start searching.

wideopenthrottle
09-28-2015, 08:53 AM
a friend made a comment to me a couple years ago while elk hunting that got me thinking.......has anyone noticed that sometimes the satellite bull(s) is actually a dominant bull letting a smaller bull do all the work tending the cows...so sometimes taking out a smaller (say 6x6) will force a big boy to start looking after the harem better?

J_T
09-28-2015, 08:59 AM
^ yup, for sure. Often the breeding bull won't tend the cows. He'll have an arrangement with another bull to manage the ladies.

wideopenthrottle
09-28-2015, 09:43 AM