PDA

View Full Version : Fresh Kill into Meat Ratio

Doe.Deer
09-08-2015, 08:42 AM
I am new to hunting and my question about how much meat you actually get off your kill.

If I kill a 250 pound black bear... after all said and done roughly how much meat do you get?
If I kill a 700 pound moose... after gutting it out take it off the bone etc.. how much meat do you get?

My fiance has hunted for many years but we want to start doing sausages and butchering ourselves. I am new to hunting but I know how to cook. This will be interesting for me.

With all these recipes online I am just wanting to know what to get. For example you kill the 250 pound bear, get 100 pounds of meat, and I want to get stuff ahead of time. Casings, salts, extra spices, port fat, nitrates...

What is the ratio? How much fresh meat do you get once all done?

Rob
09-08-2015, 08:58 AM
Usually about 1/2 I think

Stone Sheep Steve
09-08-2015, 08:59 AM
Bears are heavy boned animals. Yields will be lower than expected.

Doe.Deer
09-08-2015, 02:51 PM
Okay that's a start... thank you both I had no idea!

wideopenthrottle
09-08-2015, 03:12 PM
I did some googling for you and found these 2 items I thought you might be interested in...I always thought it was closer to 1/3 guts 1/3 skin and bones..1/3 meat but they say 50%

I am new to hunting and my question about how much meat you actually get off your kill.

If I kill a 250 pound black bear... after all said and done roughly how much meat do you get?
If I kill a 700 pound moose... after gutting it out take it off the bone etc.. how much meat do you get?

My fiance has hunted for many years but we want to start doing sausages and butchering ourselves. I am new to hunting but I know how to cook. This will be interesting for me.

With all these recipes online I am just wanting to know what to get. For example you kill the 250 pound bear, get 100 pounds of meat, and I want to get stuff ahead of time. Casings, salts, extra spices, port fat, nitrates...