PDA

View Full Version : Gear List - what next?

ajr5406
09-04-2015, 05:49 PM
Kinda know the answer to this but interested to hear some more options that perhaps I haven't thought of.

I'm new to hunting and this will be my first season. Here's what I have so far (I know that it's enough to get started):
- rifle and scope (+ammo)
- binos
- knife
- old but ok hiking boots

What would you buy next?

Ozone
09-04-2015, 06:14 PM
compass and learn how to use it

Kermodie
09-04-2015, 06:26 PM
That's a pretty broad area for discussion. What is your idea of "hunting"? Will you be driving the roads in your truck, or out hiking the hills before first light and back to camp after dark?
Back pack, fanny pack
Pack frame
Spare knife
Flashlights, spare batteries
First aid supplies
Emergency supplies
Rope, cord
Extra boots
Compass (was already mentioned)

I consider these items basics

Daybreak
09-04-2015, 06:28 PM
I'd suggest the next thing you need is a backpack, whether it be a day pack, fanny pack or outback. There are lots of little things you should have in your possession when in the bush for comfort and safety. No use buying these things unless you have a practical means of dragging them along with you.

For a day pack I prefer one that has multiple compartments with secure closures. I put certain things in certain pockets and do not open them unless need be. Keys, licences, emergency money would be an example of something I want separate and secure. Less likely to lose stuff in the bush with a well organized pack.

kebes
09-04-2015, 09:04 PM
Toilet paper..... Never leave home without it!

shallowH2O
09-04-2015, 09:07 PM
Hunting licence and tags

digger dogger
09-04-2015, 09:25 PM
Raingear, headlamp, gps.

E.V.B.H.
09-04-2015, 09:29 PM
Next item would a pack, and then at least the most basic survival supplies. Fire, shelter, water

M.Dean
09-04-2015, 09:30 PM