PDA

View Full Version : Hides for School Project

vegemite
08-19-2015, 10:31 AM
Hi folks,

I am a teacher in Vancouver area and am starting up a Grade 10 school project that takes hide from "flesh on" to leather with a view to creating a final product of either traditional moccasins or mitts. As well as field testing the final products during a multi-day expedition, the project will address elements of biology, history and just allow student to see just how incredibly tough and resilient skin is. Students will be involved in the fleshing, de-hairing, softening, smoking and eventually in using the leather.

I recently got my hands on a small fallow deer hide from Black Bird who has run a similar project and posted about it a few years back, but I am hoping that as the hunting season ramps up someone may be able to bring a hide or two back to the lower mainland for me to use. White tail, black tail, elk, moose: if you bag it I will be interested in the hide.

I know hauling a skin back to the truck is an added hassle, but if anyone is willing to bring one home that would be awesome - and would definitely warrant some beers! The only thing that I ask is that you give it a good salting (like a pound of table or road salt) on the fleshed side before rolling it up and sealing it in a bag otherwise it can become unusable. I live in the Lower Mainland and will happily drive up the valley or out to Whistler area to pick it up.

If this might work for you, please PM me or respond to this thread.

Cheers
Vegemite

JasonH
08-19-2015, 12:52 PM
If I manage to get something and keep the hide cool on my hunt coming up, I'll be sure to contact you.

Pangaea
08-19-2015, 06:52 PM
PM sent...

duckhunter1488
08-20-2015, 09:47 AM
That is awesome....I am metis and I LOVE seeing projects like this. Need to keep tradition such as making mitts and moccasins alive. You should speak to a local band and see if they would help you out....I am sure they would be keen to be a part of it!