PDA

View Full Version : Don't want honey holes just some assistance.

13thplumber
07-26-2015, 10:50 PM
So I have been hunting for 5 years now and still have yet to pull the trigger. Don't get me wrong just being in the woods is a success to me. I have had a few close chances and one unsuccessful LEH moose draw. I learned quick I need to get off the 4 wheeler as it seen the most game well on foot.
So the question is I am thinking of Clinton this year with two of my buddies who are also green and unsuccessful. I'm just curios if anybody know how the deer are in Clinton. Good areas to camp we will be in a wall tent. And thinking of the end of oct this year for 6 days.
Any advise would be great.
Thanks for looking

plumberjustin
07-27-2015, 05:40 AM
Head a little further east towards the Bonaparte, plenty of critters in the area.

ruger#1
07-27-2015, 06:23 AM
End of Oct is good. They will be migrating through that area. Smart deer in that area. They like to hide their head behind trees and bushes. There are also whitetail in the area. Havefun and do a lot of walking and spotting. I like hunting some clear cuts. Dark deer turds.they are eating lichen. And hanging around logged off areas. Green tires. They are feeding on alfalfa. Yellow. Plan grass out in the woods.

13thplumber
08-05-2015, 09:53 PM
Thanks for the info guys. Where abouts in the Bonaparte area is a good place to camp. Any ideas what the temp is like that time of year? Thx again.

tim3500
08-05-2015, 10:09 PM
Time to get the map out and go for a drive !

albravo2
08-05-2015, 10:15 PM
Agree with tim, a drive in August or Sept will be a huge help. I suggest scouting four or five places to camp because the area will fill up as hunting season gets going.

I have been through the area from clinton to lillooet, west of 99, and saw lots of critters. Lots of private land too, so take your time scouting.