PDA

View Full Version : A deboned moose.. how many coolers full?

Salty
06-30-2015, 08:33 PM
I have little experience with moose hunting and none deboning one. Hard question to answer I know but looking for experience out there, and everyone is familiar with a large igloo so how many would it take to contain the meat of a mid sized deboned bull? Or if your experience is with a different sized bull and different containers let's hear how that went if you would. thanks :)

1980skywalker
06-30-2015, 08:38 PM
Lots of variables there, how much ice are you planning on using, I guess that would depend on your time to get it home? Moose also come in many sizes, I would say plan for 3 coolers full with room for ice, you could probably fit in two but might risk it getting too warm. ???

Ohwildwon
06-30-2015, 08:42 PM
I have no idea, but ill take a guess, 10?

10 X $400 yeti cooler = $4000.00

How do you like them apples?

Just havin fun...:lol:

06-30-2015, 08:43 PM
Just a guess Salty but we're leaving all rib and spine bones for many years behind ....... At times we remove the main leg bones but guessing an average large bull from northern BC deboned would likely almost fill 2 of them big Igloo fish coolers ..... I take mine when headed north for elk and moose too. Drain cap off to be rid of melted ice water its a great way to bring back meat. Even take it on early sheep goat and buck hunts. Ice on the bottom, meat racked to circulate air when traveling home lid partailly open ....... Can save your bacon on early hunt.

Salty
06-30-2015, 08:45 PM
Thanks skywalker sort of what I was thinking. The plan would be taking an apartment sized deep freeze and a generator plus coolers. Have ice in the freezer running the genny once in a while to keep, get a moose and spread out the meat in the little freezer and coolers.

Salty
06-30-2015, 08:48 PM
10-4 on the circulation curly... makes a big difference.

Fred1
06-30-2015, 08:51 PM