PDA

View Full Version : Boiling a bear skull

duckhunter1488
05-15-2015, 11:49 AM
Can anyone provide me with some tips/tricks with boiling and cleaning a skull. I sent the meat away to the butcher, the hide away to get tanned, and I would like to have a go at boiling and cleaning out the skull and bleaching it. I have read about 3-4 different methods of doing this and some say bleach, others say peroxide, others say baking soda and dish soap?
Just looking for people with experience in this and what methods or process works best!

Drillbit
05-15-2015, 11:54 AM
Don't boil it, simmer it.

I've simmer them with dish soap to get the grease out, and then brushed peroxide on or soaked it in it.

They all turned out ok, but some are whiter than others.

To me the only thing you can do wrong is too much heat or cook for too long, but I'm not an expert.

I pressure wash them with hot water/steam before I boil them too.

bighornbob
05-15-2015, 12:01 PM
Scrape off as much meat as you can.
Boil skull on low for about an hour. I leave the skull in the water as the water cools, or you may have some of the teeth crack.
Take the skull out and use a pressure washer to blow away and meat that's left. ( wear rain gear)
As bear skulls have a lot of grease in them, soak skull in a bucket of water with Dawn detergent for about a week. Its best to keep the water warm with an aquarium heater.
To whiten, go to a beauty supply shop and buy some hydrogen peroxide cream (40 Volume is about 18% peroxide. The stuff you buy in a drug store is only 3%) about $18 for a gallon. A gallon will last for a few skulls.
Mix the cream with baby powder until its thick almost like a tooth paste. The thick paste/cream can now be brushed on and because its a paste it stays in place. The baby powder also takes away a lot of the stench.
Wrap skull a few times with Syran wrap and place in the sun for a day or so.
Wash off cream and let skull dry.