PDA

View Full Version : Bone saw

hparrott
05-08-2015, 07:54 PM
I'm new to hunting, and quickly learned the other day that the bone saw I bought was horrible. I am not that strong and I really need to invest in a saw that I can use to half/quarter game so I can be confident that I Am not limited by the size of the game incan hunt. I would like to get a saw that I can ultimately take in my pack if possible. I figure that there is a saw that is meant for bone that I could get from a store such as Home Depot or crappy tire, rather than a more expensive hunting store but I am up for all suggestions. I would like it to be good for bear/moose etc. All help appreciated :)

Ferenc
05-08-2015, 08:09 PM
Wyoming saw is what's in my pack. www.wyomingknife.com

Alfonz
05-08-2015, 08:14 PM
Wyoming saw is what's in my pack. www.wyomingknife.com (http://www.wyomingknife.com)

Agreed, get a Wyoming! They are the way to go!

2chodi
05-08-2015, 08:33 PM
I also have a Wyoming saw, but I have come to prefer a Sierra Saw:

http://www.coghlans.com/products/sierra-saw-8400

BiG Boar
05-08-2015, 08:37 PM
Have the Wyoming 2 myself. But do yourself a favor and learn the gutless method. You can quarter an animal without using more than a knife.

moosinaround
05-08-2015, 08:44 PM
i have a wyoming saw, and a very sharp Westerlings hachet too. I agree with big bore, you can quarter it without a saw by doing the gutless method! Moosin

Salix
05-08-2015, 09:11 PM
I agree the the comments above about learning to do the gutless method, much cleaner and easy to do with just a knife. I carry in the pack a cheap hand saw I picked up at crappy tire. I think it's a 14 inch hand saw designed for cutting wood but has been great for cutting the skull to get the antlers off in the field before packing out. Past 4-5 years has been used many times. Will cut leg bones too if you don't know how to get the tendons on the knee cap with a knife.