PDA

View Full Version : CORE Course - what would you change?

mike-juliet
05-05-2015, 06:49 PM
Like the title says, what would you do differently if YOU were the CORE instructor? I'm not asking only the few that I personally have had in my classes. So if you remember your course no matter who/where it was taken lets here your suggestions! I'm confident in my abilities as an instructor, but there is always room for improvement and that is what I strive for.

Sitkaspruce
05-05-2015, 07:54 PM
When I was a instructor, it was mandatory to teach a min. of 21 hours. I would teach 3 hours a night on each subject, one night of review and questions and another night for the exam. Would like to see that brought back.

My wife did the CORE 3 years ago and she was down in 6 hours, start to finish. They only taught her what was on the exam....everyone passed....... 9 people took it, they charged $105/person plus book. Not a bad wage for one days work. I called the BCWF and they were not interested in what I had to say as they left it up to the instructors on how they want to teach it. That explained why we see new hunters who don't have much of a clue on what to do in the bush, ID of animals and understanding the regulations. CORE has now become a money making system as there is no checks and balances on instructors....at least that is my experience.

Would like to see more about conservation and what the HCTF does, more about how important habitat and creating more habitat does, ecosystems and wildlife dynamics, how predators play a role in wildlife mgmt. and how social media is creating myths about hunters and hunting.

Just some thoughts

Cheers

SS

J_T
05-05-2015, 09:44 PM
Yup. More content. More time to ensure the information is consumed. Take it outside for a full day of skill development. Shooting, tracking, define hunting styles and ethics.

Gateholio
05-05-2015, 10:50 PM
One thing I've found is that our regs are confusing. Well, we all know this. :)