PDA

View Full Version : Looking for some buying advice

HeadingOutside
04-28-2015, 05:00 PM
Hey guys,

I'm in need of a new tent. We have been using a cheapo 15 year old Coleman that is showing the signs of its age. I'm a younger guy and not in a place where I can store/afford to keep a trailer or camper so tent it is. I'm fortunate enough that I am able to spend about every weekend hunting in the fall. Leave late on Saturday night, arrive at around midnight to "the spot."
This leads me to believe that wall tents are out. I need a sturdy but still decently quick to set up tent. Budget around $750. Anyone suggestions folks?

Devon

keoke
04-28-2015, 05:04 PM
tipi tent would be a nice setup with light weight stove

http://www.tipitent.com/ right in your budget as well

Liveforthehunt
04-28-2015, 05:15 PM
tipi tent would be a nice setup with light weight stove

http://www.tipitent.com/ right in your budget as well

I have had some bad experiences with tipi tents.... material even with a tarp is so thin and light with your stove and wind in the wrong direction or swirling and your burning multiple holes in your tent.... unless your talking canvas ? I personally will never even consider a tipi tent again. I was very diligent and non complacent to do a good job with the fire as well nothing worked it got windy you got holes.

goatdancer
04-28-2015, 05:25 PM
Cabela's has one called Alaknak (or something similar) that is a top notch tent. Check it out to see if it's in your price range.

caddisguy
04-28-2015, 05:28 PM
I've been using a $20 tent that I bought at Superstore about 12 years ago... no problems at all. It's seen a couple hundreds days/nights of various elements, -15 to 40C. I rely on a sleeping bag, foam mat and sometimes hot rocks to keep warm. I have a friend who bought a high tech slick/sexy space-age one from MEC for $300 and it lasted a couple trips. What are your needs? If nothing fancy like a furnace, I'd go for a $50 tent and $700 toy :)

WesHarm