PDA

View Full Version : Bum ankle hunting help!

ajeatoo
04-07-2015, 11:02 PM
Hi,

Mods please move I this is not the correct forum.

I'm sure I'm not the first with this stupid annoying problem, I want to know what you all have found that works for a bad ankle while hiking? I was hit by a car travelling at 80kms/hr several years ago, broke a bunch of bones, tore a bunch of ligaments, several surgeries later and here I am. So my main issue is my ankle, I tore the ligament badly so I roll over very easily and will drop like a sack of potatoes. I have an axis brace since I have re-injured this many times over the years but I am still trying to find my sweet spot with regards to hunting/hiking. I think I need to get some boots that are tall and more stiff, plus a rigid brace?

Thinking to to go to physio to have them recommend a good brace for this if there is any such thing. Just wondered if any of you have found something that works well? This is my first year hunting, joining my husband. Have gone through all the courses and I'm ready to go... Ankle not so much. 😒

itsy bitsy xj
04-07-2015, 11:12 PM
I have a "AIR-CAST" brace for my ankle and with it I never roll my ankle now. I do find my ankle gets very sore from not being able to move so its kind of a waste.

Big Hoss
04-07-2015, 11:19 PM
Sprained my ankle severely a few winters ago and got a brace from a pharmacy. Can't remember the brand of it but it was hard plastic lined with air pillows that you adjusted the pressure with a straw and a band thAt went under your heal then you velcroed around your ankle. It was about a foot long so I found it gave good support to stop from rolling over the ankle

Tīɡ
04-07-2015, 11:19 PM