PDA

View Full Version : Grizzly hunt in Revelstoke, any tips?

DarekG
03-23-2015, 10:19 AM
Hey All,

I am still quite new to hunting, my brother and his hunting partners are not. My brother managed to draw a tag for a Grizzly in the Revelstoke area and I was wondering if anyone had any tips or tricks for hunting them, things to be aware of, etc? Are they just like hunting any other big animal?

While my bro will have a .300, I will likely be carrying a 30-06 as that is what is available to me.

I will also have a tag for a black bear, and am hoping to get mine on the same trip. Ambitious I know, but why the hell not!
I'm trying to get as much knowledge beforehand as possible.

Liveforthehunt
03-23-2015, 10:27 AM
What region revelstoke ? Could be a start... not quite like hunting any other big game... the main difference is if that bear gets ahold of you one heavy hit with those claws and it will take your head clean off. Lol no big deal. Lots of grizz and Blackies around Revy I could help you out more if you told me the region

monasheemountainman
03-23-2015, 10:54 AM
you will get your black bear for sure! good luck Id try to go early like 2nd-3rd week of april and look for any green growing in the avalanche chutes, bring snow shoes and hope to be lucky with your timing!

Seeker
03-23-2015, 03:30 PM
You will have a blast on your first G Bear hunt. There is something pretty exciting about actually pursuing the big bruins rather than chance encounters. When it comes to black bear, you are most likely to fill your tag first before your brother does. Loads of black bears in the Revelstoke area.

Which MU would be beneficial in trying to help you out.