PDA

View Full Version : Planning first hunt

BowRunner
03-15-2015, 08:41 AM
I am brand new to hunting but not the outdoors. I have been an archer and hiker for many years and have decided to give the ethical and humane harvesting of an animal a try -- to help conservation objectives and bring home some meat that avoids the mass industrialization process.

OK, so now that I have my rationalization and justifications out of the way. I am hoping to bow hunt in the back country where there are no roads or motor vehicles, lots of hiking, with a good chance of success. I would plan on deboning my prey in the field and hiking out (not more than two days) with the harvest. I am talking up friends who like similar physical activities and could help as pack mules for me (realistically, one other). Prey? Undecided but probably something from GOS and not too large for the strenuous adventure I am planning.

Question: What is a good first prey? Am I setting my sights too high? Does this sound more like a fantasy than a realistic hunt?

sparkes3
03-15-2015, 08:44 AM
i would go for deer ,not to big for your first animal easy to clean not to big to pack out .
not hard to spot and stalk.

Liveforthehunt
03-15-2015, 08:51 AM
Not unrealistic at all... although with a bow it tends to take a lot more patience and your distance between game and you needs to be cut substantially depending on how comfortable you are in distances out to 60 yards. I have taken a couple animals with my bow but my friend starting hunting strictly with his bow and was discouraged the first 3 years no luck so we bought him a gun for his wedding present" the misses wasn't happy" but first year out he took a dear and the year after.

dakoda62
03-15-2015, 08:52 AM
X2 on deer. Packing out a moose 2-3 miles on your back is no easy chore.lol

BowRunner
03-15-2015, 09:09 AM