PDA

View Full Version : Point of impact changing - Compound bow

BiG Boar
02-23-2015, 10:50 PM
Hey guys,
Is it normal for the point of impact to change on a compound bow? I have an APA Mamba 34 and a Sure-loc lethal weapon sight. I group an average of 3 inches at 50 yards very consistently. I will put the bow away in the case, and take it out in a couple weeks, and about half the time, my point of impact will have shifted like 2-3 inches. What is going wrong? Is this common with many bows? It seemed to happen occasionally with my last bow also. Although ever component was different. Any thoughts?

tinhorse
02-23-2015, 10:58 PM
My only thought would be humidity in the air changing the flight of the arrows? As long as everything on the bow is secure. Just a guess....

Downwind
02-23-2015, 11:02 PM
Is your POI changing but group size the same? If yes I would say it's an inconsistant anchor. Shooting infrequently can make it challenging to keep a reliable anchor. Only other thing I could think would be something is moving on your sight.

Eastbranch
02-23-2015, 11:15 PM
Assuming you've triple checked all the mounting hardware on the sight, rest and stab, and served in your peep, it's probably an inconsistent anchor point. Doesn't take much to move POI 2" at 50y. Usually shooters will use the same anchor in one shooting session but often make small changes if theres time between sessions. Shooting in the same clothing helps reduce changes in posture and grip. Try to create a minimum of three reference points for a solid anchor. Write them down if you have to. At only 300fps it only takes a tiny change to move POI a fair bit (compared to a rifle)

Foxtail
02-23-2015, 11:29 PM