PDA

View Full Version : Totally Green

Carnivorous
02-23-2015, 01:31 PM
Hello everyone, I'm new to the forum and to hunting. Just finished the CORE and got my hunter number a few days ago. This is something I've wanted to do for a very long time but don't know anyone who hunts so I got tired of waiting and decided to go for it. But annnywaaays, I'm just looking for some help trying to find a general area to go come this deer season. Not looking for anyones spots or anything, just mainly asking for a nearby town or whatever, any info you're willing to share, on an area where I might have a decent chance of success that is a reasonable distance (3-4 hours max) from where I live (Langley). Im looking to hunt mostly off my back. The idea of road hunting doesn't appeal that much to me, but im in no way against it, just not my preferred choice of route to go. Thanks in advance to anyone willing to help out a total newb.

tinhorse
02-23-2015, 01:35 PM
I would be headed towards the kamloops area. Check google earth and the land title maps for ownership....(lots of private around there) and find good areas. When I lived there greenstone burn was one of my favorite places, as it is a restricted access for vehicles area, and seemed to hold a lot of game.

Carnivorous
02-23-2015, 01:37 PM
Thanks tinhorse, i'll check it out

monasheemountainman
02-23-2015, 01:46 PM
merritt,Kamloops,barrier, lots of deer in these areas

Carnivorous
02-23-2015, 02:05 PM
Thanks monsheemountainman, I guess its best just to get up into these areas and start looking around.

BearSupreme
02-23-2015, 02:06 PM
Thats awesome Carnicorous! Good on ya for taking it into your own hands. What are you hunting with for a weapon?

Carnivorous
02-23-2015, 02:13 PM
Thanks for the kind words BearSupreme. Right now I've got a Savage 16 in .270. Not the highest quality weapon, but with everything else I needed to buy to get moving on this endeavour, the price was right.

BigfishCanada
02-23-2015, 02:17 PM