PDA

View Full Version : Regional wildlife management - all bad?

Gamebuster
02-15-2015, 06:18 PM
Seems like I read complaints about almost all regions and the way wildlife is managed. It's obvious some appear to be worse than others.

Is there any region that is well managed in anyones opinion?

r106
02-15-2015, 06:40 PM
Im interested to hear peoples thoughts on this. Region 3 and 7b you hear the least amount of complaints about around here

HarryToolips
02-15-2015, 09:43 PM
I've only been hunting since 09, so I'm far from an expert, but I hear many on here who know their stuff say that Reg 3 is the best run...seems to be, they have long seasons for deer, and continually you see big bucks coming from there..

Here in reg 8, I think it's run well, though as one good guy I know says, it would be nice if we could do some counts on the mule deer especially...and from my observations the moose are doing fine, it's too bad they cut the spike-fork GOS back, though it would help if we reduced the access roads density..

02-15-2015, 09:52 PM
Our Wildlife Biologists and Managers are doing the best they can with what they have or have had in the past. This Present Government has cut and cut into all aspects of the science of BC wildlife management. $$$$ are not getting to where they need to be. BC Wildlife has gone big business, you have to wonder if the Liberals think it will manage itself.

Now, they have made unpopular political decisions rather then science and are about to even make it worse.

About the only thing I can agree with is the Wolf Kill presently under way here in BC. I just hope its not to little to late, they need to expand it if any thing. Man disturbed the cart many years ago, now ALL wildlife needs to be managed .... and not from behind some desk in Victoria

i do think region 3 and 8 bios have done a Good job even with the cutbacks

rgn5hunt
02-15-2015, 10:53 PM