PDA

View Full Version : bear season right around corner

Steelpulse
01-28-2015, 05:51 PM
Ok maybe a getting a little cabiin fever but it's pretty close 63 days away, not that long, can't wait for extended season as well, going to look to up the size from last year's bear and add a another nice bear to the books, already have a spot and bear in mind from last year, anyone else have sweet spring bear plans? Hoping to get out with firstblood and get a nice bear down with his new 45-70, drop the hammer the beast he was 25 yards from last year but couldn't make a safe shot with the. 44 ranch hand

jtred
01-28-2015, 05:59 PM
I intend on going on a couple of weekend backpack trips into a road closure where I hunted last spring and fall. I really want to get my first bear on a backpack trip(I've been hunting for 30+ years but I was never interested in bear hunting until recently). I also plan on quite a few day trips into some south face alpine as soon as it greens up, one mountain in particular because I need to find a water source for next fall. I need to find some water up there so I can pack in and spend a few days for elk and mule deer season.

Rob Chipman
01-28-2015, 06:31 PM
I'm going out for spring bears for sure. Got my first bear last fall and was pretty happy with the meat, but made too much sausage and the hams were too salty (brined for 10 days - really too salty to eat as they are so I've got to make a lot of pea soup). Seems like a no brainer. Get out and explore new areas, re-scout old areas, get a bear, butcher it myself this time, cook some more and make my own hams.

Bear skin should be back from tanners before long! :-)

So far, with my limited experience the best thing about the bear is the fat. I rendered a bit (I'll do way more next time) and have used it constantly for cooking and also rubbed it into my new boots. It seems to love leather, melts in your hand and absorbs nicely.