PDA

View Full Version : Muskwa/Tuchodi moose/elk combo hunt

pg83
01-26-2015, 02:08 PM
Hey guys and gals,

I'm in the very early stages of planning a hunt with Riverjet on either the Muskwa or Tuchodi rivers for a moose and/or elk hunt for 2016. Since I have not been in Northern BC since I was a kid I have limited knowledge myself. I'm hoping to get some info from people who have used Kevin's services before or who run either of the rivers themselves. Feel free to PM me if you are not comfortable posting on a thread. I am NOT looking for specific campsites or honey holes. Right now I am more interested in trying to time things properly. There will be 2-4 hunters in our group, we will be equipped with a wall tent for on the river, but would love to spike out from there either all together or in groups of two depending how many spend up going. We are all in our early 30s and in good shape. We all like hiking, having meat or antlers on the back just makes it better. I can't speak for my partners, but my focus will be on getting an elk with my bow. I will also have rifle and my partners may be bringing either or both weapons as well. My thoughts as of now are to go later in September to avoid the hot weather we have had earlier in season the last couple years. The drawback to going late is the water levels.

My basic questions to you are:

Which river would you go?
Which species would you focus on?
When would you go?

Anything else is greatly appreciated, thanks!

Rock Doctor
01-26-2015, 02:38 PM
That's pretty wide open.......
Both rivers are excellent for both Moose and Elk. Sometimes you can get lucky and drop one by the river, but you're more likely to see/get a good one if you are at least one hill back from the water.
The farther I get from the river, the more my focus shifts to Elk. For Moose........... Ya, if I can't hit it from the edge of the river, then it's too far to pack :-)
Late Sept to early Oct if you're looking to hear some Elk calling.

RD

albravo2