PDA

View Full Version : Using Salt Ice

Phila
01-25-2015, 12:08 PM
Hi,
I’m new to the HBC forums and looking for some advice on using salt ice on longer fishing trips. I fish mostly in salt water for salmon on both sides of the Gulf with an annual trip to WCVI. I live in the LML. After my retirement in 2014 I got back into shooting and hunting after a long time away and started following HBC. I thought I would post my question here for your comments as HBC is a good source of information on hunting and fishing, and people are well informed and very willing to help others out.

First, the joke. :grin:

Two hunters in deer camp woke up in the middle of the night. “Look at the stars… what a splendor,” said one hunter. “Yeah but what do you think happened to our tent?” said the other.

Questions:
How many days can would you expect to maintain flesh quality and taste when using salt ice to store and transport fish?
Are there special packing techniques that you recommend like using cling wrap or vac packing?
Do you advise draining the water off, or not?
Are there any places to buy salt ice in the LML?
Do you have any other suggestions?

Thanks I appreciate your comments

Fella
01-25-2015, 01:01 PM
Well this summer we loaded 2 coolers with salt ice for a 4 day trip to Port Renfrew. We left the coolers in the back of a truck with temps in the mid 20's, and by the time we got home the ice hadn't melted a terrible amount, it probably could have lasted another 3 or 4 days provided the coolers weren't constantly being opened and closed...

IronNoggin
01-25-2015, 01:04 PM
HiYa Phila - Commercial Troller and Fishing Guide here...

How many days can would you expect to maintain flesh quality and taste when using salt ice to store and transport fish?

If you have sufficient ice, fish can last up to around 6 days. Make certain you pack the bellies with ice, and layer the ice between the fish.