PDA

View Full Version : Shot size and Choke combination

kc19
01-05-2015, 02:24 PM
im just getting into the water fowler scene (mainly ducks for now) and i just have a few questions when it comes to shot sizes and chokes.

when it comes to mallards i've read that a lot of ppl are using #2's or even #4's (preference from what it seems).

when it comes to the shot size/choke combination, what are the do's and dont's with steel shots? i currently have a SUPER FULL and MOD choke for my 870 and i because ive read not to shoot certain shots out of these chokes.

and are BB's a waste for mallards?

thanks.

edit: sorry i meant to say it was a SUPER FULL

Cdn-Redneck
01-05-2015, 02:29 PM
Number 2 with mod choke will work great. Full is not for steel shot.

Foxton Gundogs
01-05-2015, 02:34 PM
ANY duck- #3s with your Mod. choke is all you need We have killed one or 2 with that combination. I have shot ducks with BBs when they have come in to the goose spread. It doesn't do terrible damage but way more than you need for them.

kc19
01-05-2015, 02:36 PM
Number 2 with mod choke will work great. Full is not for steel shot.

thanks, i appreciate the info. i did fail to mention that it was a super full choke (remington) that does state "steel or lead" on the choke. just thought i'd make sure and ask before i start to ruin my gear.

Foxton Gundogs
01-05-2015, 03:19 PM
Full/Extra Full can damage your gun with steel Modifies or more open is the way to go.

field marshal
01-05-2015, 05:24 PM
Full/Extra Full can damage your gun with steel Modifies or more open is the way to go.

Somebody tell my model `12 20 and 12 gauges ??????????? ----Cheers Field Marshal.

fowl language
01-05-2015, 05:41 PM
tony, keep in mind that the model 12 has way more steel in the barrel then most of the new guns, we used to shoot cut shells through a model 12 with no problem... I have seen 3 Remington 1100s that have blown up with larger steel shot in a full choke barrel...dale

"No Choke"Lord Walsingham