PDA

View Full Version : Choke tubes - black cloud

Dutch Ppoacher
01-03-2015, 12:00 AM
I have been shooting blue box federal BB & 2 for the last several yrs.
i noted on the distance black cloud rounds hit birds. Several guys in my crew shoot them. If i was to start shooting them, is a custom BC choke worth looking into?
Anyone running one and notice any improvements?

thoughts and comments appreciated

curtis

Cdn-Redneck
01-03-2015, 07:51 AM
I use a patternmaster code black goose choke it is a full pattern to 70 yards. The nice thing about it is you can shoot cheaper ammo instead of black cloud which is pricey. I also have a patternmaster extended range choke for sale on here. Not sure what gun you shoot it is for benelli criollo or beretta optima thread pattern.

Foxton Gundogs
01-03-2015, 11:20 AM
I shoot 3" Score or SuperX BB /#3(goose/duck) for my first 2 shots and a 3.5"(Super X, Kent or Federal) for my 3rd hail Mary(in case a hard hit bird is making a getaway) through a Mod or IM choke in my Beretta. I don't find a need for a long range choke as we shoot most birds with the landing gear down. BTW I have a case of 3.5" Black Clouds I will make someone a hell of a deal on lol.

lorneparker1
01-03-2015, 02:02 PM
I would learn how to shoot before I would waste my money on blackcloud. I shoot IC's out of U/O, a patternmaster out of my old 870 and a Rob Robertson T2 out of my browing silver. I like them all, but the t2 is my fav.

Lorne

Dutch Ppoacher
01-03-2015, 10:58 PM
I would learn how to shoot before I would waste my money on blackcloud. I shoot IC's out of U/O, a patternmaster out of my old 870 and a Rob Robertson T2 out of my browing silver. I like them all, but the t2 is my fav.

Lorne
I honestly can't hit sh!t, and rely on my parteners to get them. But it never hurts to look good in the parking lot and talk the talk by the shop counter!

Dutch Ppoacher
01-03-2015, 10:59 PM
Your browning silver should shot similar to my maxus

lorneparker1