PDA

View Full Version : Mcbride Area Mountain Goats

nicktrehearne
12-07-2014, 02:21 PM
I am new to BC and the area and was wondering if anyone is willing to share some info on goat hunting near McBride. I am not looking for any honey holes - more just if there is any zones where if I hike, I have a reasonable chance at getting a goat. I am interested in 7-18 but have not made it out to look around yet. I also prefer a zone that is not LEH. I have no problem backpacking into a remote location if that's what it takes - both of my Bighorns were over 15km from the vehicle...

Also, is there much chance of getting a mature mule buck in any of these alpine areas?

Thanks for the help!

Nick

12-07-2014, 03:41 PM
Welcome to the site but many would LOVE to see your bighorns first ...... Just saying, give a little take a little. Start out researching the goat draws for the area, then topos or Google earth , look to North slopes early, south slopes later. CT

nicktrehearne
12-07-2014, 08:44 PM
It's not letting me attach more than one but hope you enjoy. This was a general open season ram in Alberta. If you are on Facebook, add me and you can see a lot more of my hunting pics - bighorn , dalls, caribou, moose, mulies, whitetails, antelope, etc
As far as the advice goes, Thanks. :)

I am after a zone that does not require a draw so have not researched the draws extensively, and I have maps and have spent hours on Google earth and plan on starting to Scout on foot in early spring. I am not looking for the basics on finding a zone or hunting the goats - I am more looking to find out the odds and peoples past experiences in the area. I am also going to sit down with the biologists in the next little while to discuss the population demographics of the area as well - I just was hoping to get a little info out of here too! I am prepared to travel anywhere in the province if the odds are not good around McBride, but was hoping to stay closer to home.

Thanks again Curly Top!