PDA

View Full Version : Hunting Mule Deer Around Kamloops

Yulisius
11-16-2014, 06:04 PM
I was out hunting for a buck this morning with a buddy just north of Kamloops. Went up a bunch of forestry roads and saw nothing but a nice moose. I'm wondering if we were too high up, or where all the deer are out. I'm not asking for anyone's secrets here, but some tips would be nice. Are they down lower this time of year, in the cuts, or up high? On our way home we saw some... but they were on someone's property right next to the main road, and no buck.

As you may tell... I am fairly new to hunting :).

Cheers.

Bugle M In
11-16-2014, 06:59 PM
without the snow so far, I think they are just about anywhere...but than again, I am not everywhere, when I am there!?!?!?
I usually hunt low down in my area, but, my area is great when the plateau has 2 to 3 ft snow.....
Right now, or as last weekend, there wasn't any!
So, deer may be more spread out still?
It's a good question....I was asking myself the same thing, as I searched higher up as well looking for rutting bucks.
Found doe's down low and high, so bucks should be around???
Some guys are getting success as of late, so it would be nice if they would offer more info on those details ( elevation etc ), but
usually they don't...not like anyone is asking for the exact unit # and spot etc.
Looks like snow may not even show up till end of the season, the way it's going, but maybe by the weeks end???
Snow would help, at least to see sign easier, and give one a better idea of where to start.
Get out, look for rubs, and find Doe's.....than u can decide whether to road hunt, waiting for bucks to cross roads, or,
get in the bush and hunt them down.
Good luck!

Coachman
11-16-2014, 07:46 PM
Very hard to find them right now. We were out for 3 days and only found one doe and a couple two point bucks.