PDA

View Full Version : South Surrey/Cloverdale Waterfowlers

DROC
11-11-2014, 09:50 PM
Hey all,

I thought that I would set up a thread for waterfowlers in South Surrey and Cloverdale. I have been hunting a private farm for a couple years and I can hear a lot of hunters in the area. It would be cool if we could share nesting sites flight paths etc.

It's the first cold snap of the season and I can already see the geese flying lower and moving earlier in the evening. Looks like a lot of geese are moving inland from Boundary Bay and moving north to south in the evening from the fields around birdies and buckets on King George.

Anyone have anything to contribute?

J-Man
11-11-2014, 10:10 PM
I shot a limit tonight on the public lands right after sunset. Seeing lots of swans but only 1 goose tonight. Most of the geese are usually out at the coal port.

Beaves84
11-12-2014, 10:49 PM
I seem to see most flying in no shooting zones north of the nick. Got my first ever honker yesterday, along with another friend and we ended up with a few ducks. Seems to be a lot of birds in the air just before legal light. As well noted quite a few Swans in the air today with large #'s of honkers again in the no shooting zone of the ridge along south surrey. Just cant get them to turn to my spread which I know some can see, just will not commit to it. Need to get some more privileges to some land for next year...

DROC
11-12-2014, 11:28 PM
I see most of the birds in the evening right at sunset. A lot of geese are spending the night in some of the larger puddles East of 176th. It'll be interesting to see how things change as the season progresses and some of the veggies in the fields start to soften up. Don't worry Beaves84, I can't get them to land in my spread either and I'm normally catching them in the am as they look for food. The decoys have to be stellar and the flagging and calls have to be spot on. The best I can do is get small groups to circle low enough for some shots.