PDA

View Full Version : Deer with No Signs

TheHappyBarnSwallow
10-25-2014, 07:19 PM
When I was warned blacktails are like ghosts, I had no idea it was going to be quite this literal.

I've been scouting an area in MU 2-6 for the last several months and, while I couldn't find any deer signs, I figured it might produce once the weather pushed the deer down lower. Sure enough, when September rolled around, I started seeing a random doe here and there. But with signs still scarce, I couldn't make out any kind of pattern as to where they were coming from or where they were going. After several failed attempts to follow the does, I decided to wait off until the beginning of the rut to have another look, hoping that it would be easier to spot a pattern once the bucks were more active.

So I went back, hit the logging road, and... nothing. Or at least nothing new. I hit the bush and found a single, rather small doe, but that was it. I thought I'd at least find some droppings, if not some rubs. Hell, even some tracks would have been nice (apparently blacktails can levitate, as even the one I was stalking wasn't leaving much to follow).

At this point, I'm not sure whether to keep checking, strike deeper into the bush, wait until it snows, or find another spot entirely. It's frustrating because I can clearly see that there are deer in there, but I can only find them when I get lucky and stumble across one. And, again, it's only ever been does. I'd really like to be able to figure out their movements so that I might be able to snag a buck. Have the does I've been seeing just been one-offs? Or is there a way to tell where the deer are moving?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

hotshot
10-25-2014, 07:37 PM
Rut? Not yet 2 weeks more I reckon then it's first light or last light for best chances of seeing them move

ruger#1
10-25-2014, 07:47 PM