PDA

View Full Version : Cider and my West Koots Trip

markathome
10-07-2014, 07:54 PM
Hey Guys - heading over to the Lower Arrow lakes for the long weekend. I've been hunting the area for 10 years and most of the hard work is done for me - honey holes are fruitful and pretty much sure things.

I'm a bit of a foodie (but not an obnoxious dick about it) and make the most of my hunting rewards - I butcher in my garage, make sausages and smoked meats... long story short I'm into it.

So with all those tasty bits doing their thing on the big green egg smoker, I may from time to time enjoy a carbonated beverage or two. I'm a all-grain home brewer and I've been fumbling my way through a few IPAs, Wits and a few others.

I'm not a selfish man and I thought hmmm... perhaps the wife may enjoy a little home made cider. I've fermented two batches so far and the first was pretty good - super dry and crisp. Second batch I hit it out of the park - just the right amount of back sweetener and it was like we were drinking Angry Orchard out of my beer fridge (kegging is the only way to go). American ale yeast was the key ingredient in case you were wondering.

Now to my question: any of you Okanagan folks point me in the right direction for organic cider - I'm looking for about 30-40 gallons. We're coming from Squampton so ideally Kelowna, Vernon area.

Thanks in advance and good luck to everyone this long weekend.

Thanks

markathome
10-07-2014, 07:56 PM
Oh and another little note: loooonng time lurker - love reading the stories and seeing the pics. I'll start carrying my weight and put up some pics from this year's hunt when we get back.

604redneck
10-08-2014, 06:46 AM
function junction fruit stand up hwy 33
http://www.function-junction.ca/double_cross_cidery.html
dunno if its what u want but its good

boxhitch
10-08-2014, 07:04 AM
may be late for these guys , but worth dropping by
thebxpress.com/

Everett
10-08-2014, 07:19 AM