PDA

View Full Version : Girlfriend's first deer, 36 hours into having a hunting license!

unclevarda
10-06-2014, 09:28 PM
Early on in dating, before becoming exclusive, I warned her that dating me meant me disappearing for most of the fall hunting. Little did I know she would not only enjoy shooting a gun, but later join me in the hunt!

I took her out to a great little spot I've been working on for the two years I've personally hunted, and on the second morning she shot this tasty guy. I spotted the deer's antlers and ears poking out from over a hill and passed her the gun. He slowly edged over looking right at us dead on. First chance at a shot she missed! The deer stared at us unflinching, and then actually took another step closer to us! She reloaded and placed a perfect shot that ended up going dead center right through the heart. We waited a good 20 minutes, then peaked over the hill. I was super excited to see the deer cold dead not 10 yards from the shot - I would have hated for her to have to go on a long, difficult tracking mission - or worse lose it through poor shot placement. We gutted it, which she had absolutely no problems with, and started dragging down a series of hills. On one of them I stopped and decided to peak my head over the ridge before trudging over it. Right there, not 30 yards away, was another fork! I thought what the hell, lets take it and make it a pair. One shot to the heart and it was also down. Then I dragged both of them, one first for 100 yards, walk back, drag the other, back to the van. Great introduction for her, and she's stoked to go again this weekend for whitetails!!