PDA

View Full Version : New to BC deer hunting

canadian_alpine
10-06-2014, 06:04 PM
Hey guys,

I'm new to BC hunting as most of my experience was in NW Ontario growing up and I've had a few year break since moving to BC, but I was curious if anyone has any advice with regards to best time of day/terrain/area? I'm not expecting anyone to divulge any honey holes, but some helpful advice would be greatly appreciated. I

live in Langley and have explored up behind Hope around Shylock Rd. and seen a fair amount of fresh deer activity and a fair bit of cat activity, but just tracks and scat, no actual sightings. Is this a decent area to be focusing on? I also spent a day exploring up and down the Coq and up around Murray Lake and didn't see a single thing aside form a rabbit...

I'm also heading up to Hedley next weekend to move some cattle at the ranch, and was wondering if anyone had any insight into that area? I saw 2 WT does and a half a dozen mulie does a month or so ago, but no buck activity...like I said, I'm not expecting an address to the deers' front door and an invite in, but any help from people that know the area and have experience hunting out here would be very helpful.

Thanks!

Singleshotneeded
10-06-2014, 06:16 PM
Well, in general this time of year get to the edge of a clear cut or opening a ways away from an access road, during the work week if possible to cut down on the competition out there. :-D Make sure it has plenty of deer food and recent deer droppings so you know it's popular. Approach it from downwind before dawn and that'll give you the best chance to spot a buck. In a very general sense, muleys can often be spotted both on early morning hunts and evening hunts, but whitetails are almost always taken in the morning...yes of course there's exceptions...but in general first light is prime time. It's still mild so focus a bit more on the higher elevations...hope this helps. :-)

BChunter
10-06-2014, 06:32 PM