PDA

View Full Version : Brains?

Black Bird
10-05-2014, 04:15 PM
Hi folks,

A bit of an odd request here, but if anyone is willing to save the head of one of their deer this year, I would take it off your hands. I am a school teacher and have been doing a project with my students over the last couple of years where we take the hide of a deer all the way from being deerskin to buckskin. I have used egg yolks and soap for the dressing part of the process, but I have yet to try brains. I will go out hunting this year, but due to "life" I won't be out much (maybe one or two trips this year). I have friends who hunt as well, and I wish them all the success in the world, but you never know. So, if there is anyone who is willing to part with a head that they have taken home, I will take if off your hands. I will get the brains out myself (not totally sure how I am going to do that, yet - but I am creative and don't have a queazy bone in my body! :-D). I live in East Vancouver.

A word of warning that is probably well known to you all, but the head goes off very quickly. One year, I kept the head of a buck for an artist friend of mine. He didn't get to me for a couple of days and that head was well on its way by the time I gave it to him. So, I guess this will only work if someone has got one recently or for whatever reason has room in a freezer for a head until I get there. If not, no worries. This year I have an antlerless mule deer tag for region 3 (Nov. - fingers crossed!) and my friends are usually pretty good for a deer or two a year. But, if someone has just got back from a trip, doesn't live too far away, and is willing to give up the head for me to open up, I would appreciate it. Just drop me a PM.

Cheers,
BB

deerslayer3
10-05-2014, 04:27 PM