PDA

View Full Version : Exploring B.C. -- Mulies oh my

VFX_man
10-02-2014, 11:15 PM
Howdy Ya'll . . . that's how I grew up greeting people in the Southwest Missouri Ozark's. :)

As destiny would have it, in a round about way via a 25 year detour in anti-fornia (California), I'm back in a land of hunters. You've got some incredible beauty up here for sure and the two years I've been here have flown!

Anyway, being on the north side of 50, I'm just now getting back into the hunt. A friend of mine has invited me along on his moose draw hunt in the Kamloops Lake area. And I'll be slumming along with a Mulie Tag in tow. He's pulled moose and deer out of that area over the years, so he knows the territory.

Now growing up hunting in Whitetail country, the mythical Mule deer was always the exotic and unknown to me.

I started shooting at age 5, so I know which end to point where, but have no clue how you ladies and gents hunt up here for Mulies.

SW Missouri is pretty thick brush were you can't see 5 feet in front of your face in areas. We tended to go up -- into a tree-stand to expand our FOV and developed a keen sense of hearing.

Any hints and guidance would be most appreciated. I'll be hanging out in the (guessing) packed M.U. 3-29 area, but could be in any of the near M.U.'s as well.

Not asking for your secret spots, just some friendly information.

Cheers, M

wrenchhead
10-02-2014, 11:44 PM
3-29 holds some excellent mulies. My preferred method is hiking away from the roads and still hunting the open fir ridges in that country. Keep the wind in your face and your bound to see game.

itsy bitsy xj
10-03-2014, 02:25 AM
Welcome to the best place on earth! Sorry no great advise on the Reg 3 mullies, but good luck on your hunt

ruger#1
10-03-2014, 02:56 AM