PDA

View Full Version : Pemby deer help (not honey holes)

ducktoller
09-21-2014, 11:41 PM
Looking for brief advice on pemby deer. Drew a doe tag but since I am going for moose in October as well, I will probably only get a day or two to target one.
Ignoring the option of hunting on private farmland, I was thinking of heading towards Tenquille Lake area from the West Side. Or going farther up the Lilloet towards Meager Creek area and hiking in. Sound areas or no? Would be going mid to late october.
Would only be day tripping. I have family in Whistler and can't resist the free warm bed, meal, and drinks.

I am a rookie hunter but grew up using sea to sky country, so I am familiar with hiking in west coast conditions, bear safety, mountain safety, etc.

killer_shot
09-22-2014, 02:53 AM
just hunt all the south sloped on the north side of lillooet river there will be deer that just live there all the time and then ones migrating back from upper valley by that time. seen lots from valley floor even up into waist deep snow. pretty thick brush so burns cuts and steep rocky areas are your best bet for seeing them
good luck
PS keep your eyes peeled for bears lots and lots out just saw a 500lbs black walking in pemby today and everyone knows grizz hang around the hurley

lovemywinchester
09-22-2014, 08:17 AM
If I remember the locals hunter survey #s, I think the average was 11 days hunting for one buck in Pemby. Not as easy as you may be hoping. Lots of deer around there, just steep, rough country.

ducktoller
09-23-2014, 11:26 AM
y
If I remember the locals hunter survey #s, I think the average was 11 days hunting for one buck in Pemby. Not as easy as you may be hoping. Lots of deer around there, just steep, rough country.

Not expecting much, just hoping for a lot hahah. Never a bad day hiking in the mountains in the fall!

MichelD
09-23-2014, 11:32 AM
Buddy was up there last week. He says there is a ton of industrial activity in the valley.

JasonH
09-23-2014, 12:34 PM