PDA

View Full Version : How do I keep grouse and other small game fresh in the field?

ehtea
09-19-2014, 07:44 AM
I'm totally new to hunting so I apologize in advance if the answer to this is obvious..

I'm wondering how to keep upland game birds from spoiling overnight in the field. Last weekend I bagged a few grouse with my .22 on my way home Sunday afternoon after spending a couple of days in the alpine. I was able to get the birds to the freezer that evening. I'm thinking that this weekend it'd be great to stay out overnight, and hunt both days, but the last thing I'd want would be to have birds from Saturday spoil before I could get them into the fridge or freezer Sunday night. Are there any special techniques for keeping the meat fresh? I guess I'd have the same question for hares and other small game like that.

Thanks for any advice!

digger dogger
09-19-2014, 08:09 AM
Breast them, Put them in a cooler with ice.
If u are new hunting, you tube, "how to clean a grouse".

Big Lew
09-19-2014, 08:30 AM
If you want to keep the bird intact for roasting etc, then gut them right away. Allow them to cool down, especially giving the chest cavity air for this purpose. Don't put them in a tight container such as a plastic bag until they're cold. Even leaving the guts in for half a day during the warm weather can sometimes lead to tainted meat. I just returned from 3 1/2 days and all my ducks and grouse are fine even though it was quite warm during the day.

boxhitch
09-19-2014, 09:03 AM
Breast them or eviscerate , leave the mandatory wing on , ziplock bag , put in a cooler with ice block

itsy bitsy xj
09-19-2014, 09:24 AM
I was going to say cooler and ice but that's already been said

BigfishCanada
09-19-2014, 09:48 AM
I always have zip lock bags in my pack, clean em, zip em and put them in the cooler

finngun
09-19-2014, 09:55 AM