PDA

View Full Version : new crossbow, have some questions

bpeters
08-25-2014, 07:29 PM
my father and I just purchases a 225 lbs, 345 fps recurve crossbow and have a few questions regarding storage and broad heads. first off storing a recurve, is it ok to keep it strung or in doing so do you put unnecessary stress on the limbs? and to string it is it best to let a shop do it or are there some tricks to do it yourself. now to broad heads, in our area we are only hunting deer within 50 yards and have opted to use mechanical heads I am just wondering what is the best weight of head for deer and will shoot smoothly and accurately from this bow

bp

Darksith
08-25-2014, 07:59 PM
I am new to xbow as well, but at that speed I am suspecting that you don't want to use a mechanical broadhead...most have fps ratings, and my bow also is around the same speed...I couldn't find and was recommended to use solid broadheads. Nothing wrong with them either...

bpeters
08-25-2014, 08:06 PM
didn't know that mechanicals had fps ratings? do you know why that is ? will it initiate the expansion during flight or something?

Fisher-Dude
08-25-2014, 09:08 PM
I don't use mechanicals, and I keep my Excalibur strung.

YMMV.

Fred1
08-25-2014, 09:12 PM
I don't use mechanicals, and I keep my Excalibur strung.

YMMV.

x2 ........

aggiehunter
08-25-2014, 09:23 PM
as a recurve shooter I would suggest unstringing at least during the off season...it's easy to do.

steveo
08-25-2014, 09:43 PM