PDA

View Full Version : Eddie Bauer (yes, Eddie Bauer)

David
08-22-2014, 10:50 AM
For non-camo gear, does anyone have experience with the First Ascent line sold through Eddie Bauer?

To date, I've been finding most everyone's mid-priced offerings crap value for the dollar (I'm looking at you MEC, North Face, Arc-teryx, etc.).

I bought these light-weight summer hiking pants for $50 or less (on sale) and they have been amazing:
http://www.eddiebauer.com/product/guide-pants/12951063/_/A-ebSku_0290635707009294__12951063_catalog10002_en__ US?showProducts=&backToCat=Pants%20_%20Shorts&previousPage=GNAV&tab=first%20ascent&dcolor=707

Just wondering if anyone has experience with their packs, tents, jackets, fleeces, etc.

David
Note:
This is the First Ascent brand, not the regular Eddie Bauer stuff.

Tuffcity
08-22-2014, 09:20 PM
I've been using some of the First Ascent gear for a few years- its awesome. :) You can pick up some decent stuff for cheap on their end of season sales. Year 4 on a pair of light weight rain pants (and its been used hard) and also have a down shirt that's been amazing.

No experience with the gear other than some of the clothing.

RC

dak0ta
08-22-2014, 11:39 PM
The regular EB hunting gear is pretty decent and comfortable. They have the more vintage style of hunting clothes from yesteryear like the Goose-down vests with the recoil pads sewn in and pockets for shells as well as hunting jackets in forest green with pockets etc.

Foxtail
08-23-2014, 06:35 AM
I have had really good luck with Columbia stuff. It has gone up in price over the years though.

skuntor
08-23-2014, 07:07 AM