PDA

View Full Version : SUV game carrying options

Tommybuckles
08-14-2014, 10:36 PM
Hi there,

I'm new to hunting and have a ton of questions. Firstly, this is a great site. Tons of people willing to help and provide information which is greatly appreciated. So I cover my bases before I post my question I'll start with a joke:

A pirate walks into a bar with a ships steering wheel hanging from his crotch. The bartender looks up and and says, " Hey buddy you know you have a steering wheel on the front of your pants". The pirate replies, "Arrr, I know it's driving me nuts".

Now for my question. I drive and older SUV that is more than capable of taking me off road. But if I fill it with camping/hunting gear as well as possibly a small platform for sleeping then what would be my options for transpoting a deer? I was wondering how other members haul game that have a similar set up? Anyone ever use a hitch mounted cargo box? Pics of your SUV set up would be awesome if anyone has them.

Thanks!

longstonec
08-14-2014, 10:47 PM
Welcome.

I like sleeping outside of the vehicle if possible. It can be warmer and not the same stinky air come morning... and less chance of me turning on all my lights and draining the battery.

If you debone a deer, it wont take up much space. otherwise wrap it in a tarp and put it in the passenger seat!

mikeboehm
08-14-2014, 10:49 PM
http://www.princessauto.com/mobile/product/productDetail.jsp?productID=8402257

Brambles
08-14-2014, 10:53 PM
Your options are limited if you already have it full before you pull the trigger!

I've just incorporated an SUV into my hunting regime as well, I'm gonna build a roof basket to hold gear. Fold down basket off the trailer hitch is an option too,

000buck
08-14-2014, 11:03 PM
There's sum thin bout a truck...

000buck
08-14-2014, 11:05 PM
Roof basket is the best option. Load gear in the suv until you need the space then top load the gear and toss the critter in the back

chris
08-14-2014, 11:19 PM