PDA

View Full Version : Finding Bears in the fall

heatherdaddy
08-13-2014, 06:44 PM
Ok, this may be a stupid question but I am new to Bear hunting and I am wondering where do you find the Bears in the fall. In the spring you find them where the grass is green but where do you find in the fall. I was told to try around the rivers looking for fish but then was also told that fish bears taste funny is that true?? Any help would be nice as I didnt get my bear in the spring so I want one in the fall and have about a month before the season opens here.

monasheemountainman
08-13-2014, 07:00 PM
Find huckleberry patch in the summer. Go there opening day, shoot the biggest bear in the patch.

Dre
08-13-2014, 07:04 PM
I see them often in the blueberry patches above the timber. They can be found in the bushy stuff in the valley bottoms as well, but its hard to hunt them there as it can be very thick. Most people don't hunt black bear as a main course in the fall, but more as a side dish or a last resort. They are definitely harder to spot as there is more abundance of food and it is all over the place. For 3 years now I've had my eye on a tank of a cinamon phase one and always passed, but if I see him this year, I just might end our little game. Good luck.

heatherdaddy
08-13-2014, 07:21 PM
Just a note, I am not going as a main course, I am hoping to find one while hunting deer.

hunter1993ap
08-13-2014, 08:11 PM
Just a note, I am not going as a main course, I am hoping to find one while hunting deer.

you will find bears where you find deer and elk. if you spend enough time in the fall hunting deer you will probably bump into a bear or two. I always see a couple bears while hunting deer and elk in the fall.

HarryToolips
08-13-2014, 09:18 PM
you will find bears where you find deer and elk. if you spend enough time in the fall hunting deer you will probably bump into a bear or two. I always see a couple bears while hunting deer and elk in the fall.