PDA

View Full Version : 8-14 info

asherriff
08-11-2014, 11:58 AM
Hello... I have been invited by a friend to hunt with him in 8-14 for deer. I have read lots about the area and what we can expect for deer but was wondering what type of elk populations are in that MU? I know everyone will tell me there are no elk there... but just looking for some real input. I don't need your secret honey holes...just some advice. Cheers! We will be there in mid october and it is my first time in that area ever... Thanks and hope everyone is enjoying the heat!

d6dan
08-11-2014, 12:22 PM
Boundary creek, turn off just north of Greenwood, up through to Terrace peaks will be good and then over to Christian Valley. Whiteys in the valleys and Mulies up top. Elk around, lots of glassing.

Jelvis
08-11-2014, 04:25 PM
Rut will be long gone when your going tho.
The elk start b4 the end of this month, calling whistling and turning rut mode, you can call it pre rut but the bulls are ready to go.
At the end of August early September they are in.
The cows will come in to estrus in September and then taper down because most mature cow elk will be bred by end of September..
Some say in October is still good in the beginning. Only the true veteran elk hunters could still work a bull in late rut.
Jel -- Good luck in MU 8-14 -- Head in from the Christian Valley as below
From Christian Valley up into the Lassie Lake - Trapping Creek country for elk.

Moosehunter64
08-11-2014, 04:37 PM