PDA

View Full Version : new to waterfoul

zeddy
07-21-2014, 06:16 PM
As title says I'm new to waterfowl. I'm probably opening a can of worms but look for best choke and shell combo. I'm good with clay with my little mossburg but recently purchased a benelli super nova for hunting. Any suggestions and opinions are appreciated

RoscoeP
07-21-2014, 06:42 PM
I also have the Benelli Super nova, it is stamped right on the full choke tube "no steel" so I would use the modified choke tube with ammo of your choice.

Kopper
07-21-2014, 07:46 PM
I use modified choke with 3in #3 or #4 for ducks, but most of my shots aren't close. Probably a less constricted choke and smaller shot for closer range.

Mulehahn
07-21-2014, 08:01 PM
It depends a lot on where you are going to be shooting, in the marsh or do you have access to a field? If going to the marsh I like to shoot #2s because you don't know what you will call in/jump. If shooting in a field and you can have a solid idea of what you will shoot (ducks or geese) I like to shoot #4s or BBs accordingly. Same goes for the choke. If you are set up fairly close an improved cylinder works well, but if shots may be a bit further a modified is great. If you are looking for an all around, this is what I use, then to me #2s with modified choke is the answer. As for shell brand, the importance of patterning your shotgun can not be over stated. Lots of great fowl hunters on here, hopefully on of them chimes in but that is my experience.

bc_buckshot
07-21-2014, 08:09 PM
Mod choke always.
I use a 28 year old 870 wingmaster 2-3/4.For ducks i use #4 over decoys 20-30 yard max. For fly bys and pass shooting i use #2. Geese I use bbb or bb.

Little trick for you if your shooting over decoys, throw in and chamber a #4. Then bottom feed another #4 then make your last shot a #2. That way if you come up to your last shot and missed your last shot is more set up for a farther shot