PDA

View Full Version : Tarptent Tents

Moe.JKU
07-09-2014, 03:35 PM
Does anyone have experience with Tarptent tents? They seem to be the choice in the backpacking community, however I was wondering if anyone here has used them or seen them. They look really light and come in at 1.7lbs.

This is the one that i am looking at specifically.
http://www.tarptent.com/contrail.html

If you have used one or seen one in person let me know what you think about it.

Iron Sighted
07-11-2014, 12:12 AM
I have a Tarptent Moment. I like it a lot, i'd like to try the Tarptent Rainbow at somepoint as well. I have no experience with the Contrail, but it is one of the older models, you can get newer ones that are much quicker and easier to set up and have an inner mesh to keep bugs out. I have also heard that the Contrails really need some consideration for pitching in to the wind.

Tons of info on the backpackinglight.com forums on these and many other lightweight tents.

leadpillproductions
07-11-2014, 12:27 AM
Some nice lookin tents

Moe.JKU
07-11-2014, 07:19 AM
I have a Tarptent Moment. I like it a lot, i'd like to try the Tarptent Rainbow at somepoint as well. I have no experience with the Contrail, but it is one of the older models, you can get newer ones that are much quicker and easier to set up and have an inner mesh to keep bugs out. I have also heard that the Contrails really need some consideration for pitching in to the wind.

Tons of info on the backpackinglight.com forums on these and many other lightweight tents.

The contrail does have a mesh screen from the floor to the walls. As well under the vestibule where you enter. I may look at others to compare as well, Just wanted to go with a budget friendly one for now and if i want to upgrade i will to a 2 man tent later.

Stresd
07-11-2014, 07:26 AM