PDA

View Full Version : New Hunter. out of my element

chrismcd
07-09-2014, 11:41 AM
hey i am just getting into hunting, gunna go for mule deer. ive never hunted and dont know anyone that hunts. in the past ive done lots of fishing mostly salmon in the lower mainland, and a bit of trout in the interior. ive always hiked and camped but never made a point to keep an eye out for animals, ive spent the last 4 months hiking local mountains trying to tune into my natural hunting spirit

i have resently started looking for spots to scout before the hunting season starts. i am very interested in alpine hunting but dont know how to start. i didnt get an LEH tag so my options are open for anywhere. areas near clearwater or lillooet seem like they have lots of alpine.

i know people dont like giving away spots on this site from all ive read, but hope youll give me a little break. im mostly looking for general guidelines of where to start out. i plan on going camping for 4 or 5 days next week and do some major recon wherever i end up going. i dont expect gps coordinates but maybe genereal areas that would be good for a new hunter looking for alpine muleys.

thanks.

Steeleco
07-09-2014, 12:58 PM
If your getting familiar with a few spots near the two towns you listed, go learn those spots as much as you can. It can take many trips to learn an area and the way in which the animals live and use that area. If you post a thread in the newbie section you may find a mentor or a like minded newb that you can learn with or from.

To say go here or there is almost wasted. Many will tell you their areas can be very sparse for days, then one day it's like the ark just docked. Find the area you like the most and pound it till it produces. Don't be discouraged. If hunting were easy, everyone would be doing it.

Best of luck.

BiG Boar
07-09-2014, 01:06 PM